October 12, 2004

  • Kiddie Quote of the Week


    "So when this house is dirty and yechy and full of stuff, we'll buy a new one."


    Parental caveats:  the remark was made by Ms. 4 to Ms. 6, when both adults were out of the room (although we did convene elsewhere to giggle quietly), but even so I would vociferously deny that her assumptions were based on some lesson learned at home (our house being without doubt dirty, yechy and full of stuff, but a new one does NOT loom on the near horizon).  In any event, I am intrigued by future opportunity, should she find herself able to pursue this formula in her own adulthood, for the scavenger class.  Perhaps I could leap in as the middle-woman myself.  Want a low-rent dirty, yechy house full of stuff, anyone?

Comments (15)

  • Heh, heh!!! I just moved out of one, but thanks, anyway. They are the cutest things.

  • (your girls, not the yechy houses)

  • hahah, no lie, about two weeks ago evie asked what i was doing, and i said "cleaning" (no wonder she didn't recognize the activity...) and she asked why and i said, "becuase our house is a big giant pile of crap," and she said, "oh.  i guess we should get a new one, then."

    unlike you, however, we've taken her advice, and are looking to unload said pile of crap on anyone who wants it.

  • How about we trade?
    Dirty and yechy and full o' crap is so much more exotic when it's in a city in central Japan, right?

    Yeah, I remain unconvinced, myself.

    I thought we had found the piece of land we were looking for this Saturday...large enough to build our dream house with a carpark (so we could stop renting parking spaces)...only to discover Sunday night that it is physically unreachable by car. A combination of poles, both electrical and inexplicable, boulders, other buildings, and a street originally designed for horse and cart make it so. Back to the agent we go.

    All I know is both your historic property and the place rache lovingly describes as "kraphaus" seem about a thousand times preferable to the mold and mud construction I sit within, now.

  • LOL.. I love it. 

  • She was born to rent.

  • I find myself siding with your daughters. So where's my new home?

  • No thanks, all ready got one.

  • Actually, I'd just like kitchen floors with no deep grooves between the planking.  You've NO idea how gross it is with a toddler and a 4-year old spilling, crunching cheerios into the cracks... and you can't get it all with a broom.  I wear shoes just so I don't get the willies.  ((shudder!!))

    ... but I don't wanna give up my beautiful Victorian home, either...

  • they say the DARNDEST things!

    I have a house that is not that old, but still full of SOME yechhy stuff, it's dirty where the kids have trodden, but the rent's not low...

  • Wow.  Sometimes I really do long for a child's presence in my life.  Maybe not every daaaaay but still.. *laughs to self*

    That's just priceless, Faith!  I myself am surrounded by dirty and yechy.  I'm trying to organize but I just keep losing a handle on that concept because I'm a clutter bug.  I hang on to stuff for sentimental reasons.  And the paperwork that's all over the place?  Well, I print things from the net, have paid bills, and other misc papers, and for the most part, I have no idea how to keep them from piling up!

    Your daughter's got the right idea... except that moving is pretty expensive!  Tell her when she's old enough to understand that it's cheaper to hire a housekeeper.

  • actually, moving is the only way I've ever been able to get a handle on the chaos. Find a solution other than moving, please let me know.

  • Wow, if Ms.4 is correct, my house should have been on the market years ago!

  • she'll make a good realtor someday.

    and, got a dirty house of my own, thanks. 

  • i like the way kids think. my nephew told me we could just store the used plates in the refrigerator, and take them out as we need them.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment